The Secretary
  The Lyrebird Awards
  P.O Box 5046
  Studfield  Vic  3152

Congratulations to all
the 2013 
Award nominees

check out the nominations here

 Lyrebird   Awards 2013
  Saturday 8th February
    Karralyka Centre
Mines Rd

1812 Theatre



**Lyrebird Youth Awards**

Nominations announced

Check out our nominations page for all the info


The Lyrebird Awards was established over 20 years ago to encourage participation in performing arts and encourage talent in the outer eastern region. The awards were designed to recognise artistic merit and celebrate artistic endeavour. Our motto is to ‘Foster the spirit of entertainment’.


Originally inspired by Jeff Jones attending the inaugural Gippsland Amateur Theatre Awards in 1992. He took his idea of having awards in his local area to Trish Juster-Schofield  and a meeting was held to ascertain the feasibility of the awards.



  1. Celebration of theatrical artistic endeavour
  2. Recognition of artistic merit in theatre
  3. Encouraging participation in the outer-eastern metropolitan region
  4. Encouraging new talent of all ages
  5. Sustaining ethical standards
  6. Maintaining fair standards


The following are taken from the 1994 programme; they have since been expanded into our current Mission Statement and Key Values.

  • To promote local theatre throughout the region
  • To unite people with a love for theatre for one magic night
  • To pay tribute to the many, many people who volunteer their time and energy to entertain audiences throughout the Dandenong Ranges and the Yarra Valley.

In 1995 the following was added to the original – To recognise the outstanding theatrical talent which abounds in our region

Check Out all the great shows to see on our shows page

Site Map